Author Topic: My first opera! The Magic Flute  (Read 10980 times)

SFBaySM

• New to Town
    • View Profile
  • Experience: Professional
My first opera! The Magic Flute
« on: Mar 24, 2007, 09:10 am »
Hi there! 

I am a college student  studying stage management.  I've been SM/ASM/PA for several shows, and production manager/asst. for 3 festivals.  The closest I've ever come to an opera is musical theatre...which I suppose has some parallels, but it's definitely a different world. 

Starting next week I am stage managing the music department's annual opera - The Magic Flute.  I am mediocre at reading music, but obviously working on that.  I'm on spring break right now and intend to listen to the music and follow the score as much as humanly possible. 

I'm sure I'll come up with specific questions as the rehearsal process progresses, but for now I'm looking for any advice you might have for a newbie.  What are some key differences between SMing a straight play and an opera?  I will be calling off of the score, so I know to get extremely comfortable with that.  The singers have been rehearsing music since September, and I *think* some staging has taken place, but I'm not certain.  The director is a little slow responding my emails...

So, any advice you have is great, especially if you've worked on this particular opera  Thanks :)

Maribeth

• Superstar!
    • View Profile
  • Affiliations: AEA
  • Experience: Former SM
Re: My first opera! The Magic Flute
« Reply #1 on: Mar 24, 2007, 12:16 pm »
there was a discussion a while back about suggestions for opera- http://smnetwork.org/forum/index.php/topic,1249.0.html . it mentions some good ideas.