Author Topic: Advice for stage managing a concert?  (Read 8788 times)

JenniferS.

• New to Town
    • View Profile
  • Affiliations: Ithaca College
  • Current Gig: Interning at the Finborough Theatre in London
  • Experience: College/Graduate
Advice for stage managing a concert?
« on: May 28, 2007, 04:06 pm »
Help!

I've agreed to stage manage an outdoor concert at a human rights rally run by a friend next weekend, and I really don't know what to expect. I'm new to stage managing in general, and the few shows I've done so far have been plays and musicals. My friend hasn't had time yet to fill me in on what she needs from me, despite my best efforts to set up meetings with her. Since it's less than a week away, I'm getting a bit nervous. Can anyone give me any advice on the matter? What would normally be expected from a stage manager at a concert? Any tips, suggestions, etc?

Thank you!
Jennifer

centaura

• Permanent Resident
    • View Profile
  • Experience: Professional
Re: Advice for stage managing a concert?
« Reply #1 on: May 29, 2007, 08:43 am »
Is is going to be a multipe band event, or a single band?  There's usually not much do for SMing a concert, in fact almost every band that comes into my roadhouse doesn't tour with a SM.  We do have a local union guy who SMs the local symphony, but that's basically a case of telling the person who does the introduction when its time to start.

I would imagine your efforts are going to be directed to cueing up folks, whether it be speakers or the next band in line.  Unless they've talked about light cues that you'd be calling?  My gut says that the lighting folks will be running their own show, other than possibly getting a cue from you for starting.  Is there a way to email the friend to at least get a list of questions to her attention?

-Centaura

CharlieS

• Tourist
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: May 29, 2007, 03:01 pm »
Hi,