Author Topic: Would someone be willing to help me with my resume?  (Read 7698 times)

Jess

• Tourist
    • View Profile
    • http://www.jessdoestheatre.com
Would someone be willing to help me with my resume?
« on: Jan 16, 2005, 01:45 pm »
Hi there! I graduated from a Production program last year and am just now starting to look for work for summer 2005. I've got some experience but am having trouble with my resume/cover letter. Would anyone out there who has experience actually getting jobs via resumes and cover letters be willing to e-mail with me and have a look at mine???

You can e-mail me at jessinedmonton@hotmail.com. I would GREATLY appreciate the help! Really, I would!

Thanks so much!

JESSICA  :D

smejs

• Permanent Resident
    • View Profile
  • Affiliations: AEA, AGMA, SMA, USITT
  • Current Gig: Freelance SM in Denver
  • Experience: Professional
« Reply #1 on: Jan 16, 2005, 11:54 pm »
I've already emailed Jessica privately, but for anyone starting a new resume.....there are a ton of ideas out there of how to arrange your resume, whether to put dates or not, listing references or not, etc....

In my opinion, some of the most important things are:
a) make it easy to read, whatever format you choose
b) keep it to one page if at all possible (though I actually put my references on a 2nd page)
c) definitely proof everything for spelling and grammatical errors
d) put some effort into your cover letter to show you've sought information out for the specific job and/or theatre you're applying for.  These days almost every theatre has a website.  Take a moment to poke around it, and pull some of that into your cover letter.  They love the extra effort you've taken if you mention something about their theatre that wasn't just in their ad.
e) I would also recommend saying where you found the ad, so they know which publication, etc that they're getting responses from.

Erin

rjstevens

• New to Town
    • View Profile
    • http://www.geocities.com/beliza21