Author Topic: The Cardinal Sin  (Read 7202 times)

ERK

• Contributor
    • View Profile
    • http://
The Cardinal Sin
« on: Feb 18, 2005, 08:38 pm »
So I committed what I believe to be the cardinal sin of stage management 2 days ago.  I was late for rehearsal.  By an hour.  Fortunately, there were fittings going on and I'm just a lowly intern so all I had to do was make coffee, but I felt horrible for the rest of the day.  Ugh.  Somehow I just got it in my head that we were starting an hour later than we actually were.

But perhaps this isn't THE cardinal sin of stage management.  What do you think is the one thing a stage manager should avoid at all costs?

smejs

• Permanent Resident
    • View Profile
  • Affiliations: AEA, AGMA, SMA, USITT
  • Current Gig: Freelance SM in Denver
  • Experience: Professional
The Cardinal Sin
« Reply #1 on: Feb 19, 2005, 01:28 am »
I've been trying to think, but being late is the main one I can think of.  That or not showing up at all to a meeting you've arranged for people to be at...

Certainly a lot of things you HOPE not to do are human nature...some of us DO call cues wrong, mishear a note, just can't be there when the actor calls "line"...part of the "joy" of live theatre is that it's not perfect.  Though we try damn hard to appear that way.  (I am, aren't you?)  :D

Erin

MatthewShiner

• Forum Moderators
    • View Profile
  • Affiliations: AEA, SMA
  • Current Gig: Freelance Stage Manager; Faculty for UMKC
Sins of Stage Management
« Reply #2 on: Feb 19, 2005, 01:31 pm »
1) Thou shall not be late; for once you are late, you loose all ability to chatise others for being late.

2) Thou shall not lie; for once you lie about something you loose all crediability.

3) Thou shall not pass the buck; remember, the buck should stop with you.

4) Thou shall not show up to work drunk.

5) Thou shall not sleep with a cast member (for that is just a messy situation to deal with).