Author Topic: Question about SM finances  (Read 10742 times)

Lvdsne

• New to Town
    • View Profile
Question about SM finances
« on: Jul 15, 2004, 12:14 am »
Hey all -

I have a dilemma and I need some advice.  I'm currently a stage management student transferring from a community college to a 4-year-program.  I got into a few schools, but my favorite is going to leave me with close to $42,000 in debt.  My question is this: can I afford this school based on a stage management salary?  I know the amount SMs are paid can vary greatly, but in general would I be making enough to afford this education?  I am in love with the program this school offers, but my father is convinced I'd be making a terrible mistake.  Any suggestions would be appreciated!

Thanks!
"I spread my wings and touch ten million other words" ~ His Dark Materials

MatthewShiner

• Forum Moderators
    • View Profile
  • Affiliations: AEA, SMA
  • Current Gig: Freelance Stage Manager; Faculty for UMKC
  • Experience: Professional
SM Salary
« Reply #1 on: Jul 15, 2004, 01:13 pm »
Hmmmm.  I can say that it depends on what level you wish to work at.

I for example, have been working at the regional theatre level, working about 50 weeks a year.  For the past three years, I have made anywhere from $30,000 to $60,000 a year.

If you do broadway, you can imagine yourself making $60,000 - $100,000 a year.

If you tour on a production contract, your will make roughly the same.

If you do industirals as well, you could start making $500 - $2000 a day, but those jobs are few and far between.

Hope that helps.
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

Anything posted here as in my own personal opinion, and does not necessarily reflect the opinion of my employer - whomever they be at a given moment in time.

phillydan

• New to Town
    • View Profile
    • http://
« Reply #2 on: Jul 15, 2004, 03:21 pm »