Author Topic: hello from your moderator! (KC's old intro thread)  (Read 26754 times)

KC_SM_0807

• SM Expert
    • View Profile
    • http://
hello from your moderator! (KC's old intro thread)
« on: Jun 17, 2006, 12:41 pm »
Hello all,

I just wanted to formally introduce myself!  My name is Casey and I am the moderator for this forum regarding students/novice Stage Managers.

It would be great if everyone could introduce themselves, and maybe where they go to school and how long they have been Stage Managing.  SMing is all about connections and resources, and I think that we should use that to our full advantage by getting to know one another and learning about the different approaches and styles that everyone uses.  I can't wait to learn more about each of you!

About Me
First of all, to give you a little information about myself.  I am a student at the University of North Carolina Wilmington receiving my BA in Theatre and Spanish.  I have done a wide variety of shows for my university, but I also work downtown.  We have over 12 miscellaneous theatre companies in Wilmington which is wonderful!  I mainly work for the Thalian Association.  My last show was Footloose which was so much fun and I learned so much.  After I graduate in December I plan to go to graduate school to get my MFA, or either plan to take an internship somewhere to gain more experience.

Why this forum?
Being a student myself, I am so happy to be moderating this forum because I can relate.  I also think that this forum is the foundation for the others, since all Stage Managers start out as either students or novices.  With time and practice, students and novices then become the professionals. Therefore, this forum is designed for the ones who are still learning so much about the craft!

A few last things..