Author Topic: Hi all!  (Read 3148 times)

Fallleaves

• New to Town
    • View Profile
  • Experience: Professional
Hi all!
« on: Sep 04, 2013, 01:03 pm »
After months of just using SMNetwork as a guest, I finally decided to join.

I suppose I joined out of desperation or for a little bit of commiseration. For the first time in almost three months I am unemployed.

I graduated four months ago with a degree in Italian and decided I wanted to try to pursue my totally unrelated dream of stage managing. Having only stage managed twice before moving to the NYC metropolitan area (call me crazy), I was anxious--and still am. It has been an amazing three months. I have worked on four shows in that span (including one for NYCFringe which I was ecstatic about!) And I have learned SO much about being a stage manager. It's really incredible. Bad days and good days, I am happy I have chosen this career.

I know I love what I am doing.
I know I am good at stage managing.
I know I can be great at stage managing.
Just looking for the next step, I suppose.
Hi all :)
-Angelissa

ReyYaySM

• Permanent Resident
    • View Profile
  • Affiliations: AEA
  • Current Gig: Freelance
Re: Hi all!
« Reply #1 on: Sep 05, 2013, 05:11 pm »
Hello and welcome to SMNetwork.  Glad you made the leap from guest to member!  Italian isn't entirely unrelated to stage management--have you considered Opera?  If you haven't already browsed through the Employment board, be sure to take a look through it.  Best of luck to you as you plan your next step and move forward with stage management.

Dart

• Contributor
    • View Profile
  • Current Gig: GALA Hispanic Theatre
« Reply #2 on: Sep 09, 2013, 04:10 pm »
Welcome Angelissa!