Author Topic: Good day!  (Read 3277 times)

bkrst275

• New to Town
    • View Profile
    • My Tumblr
  • Current Gig: Opera
  • Experience: College/Graduate
Good day!
« on: Jan 24, 2014, 05:00 pm »
My name is Brandon, and I am currently studying for my B.F.A. in Stage Management at Small Midwestern U! (No, that's not the actual name of my school, but I think it would give too much away if I actually named my school. It's tiny.) I have been doing theatre since middle school, and stage management since I was a sophomore in high school.

One interesting thing that happened quite recently, I was an ASM for a musical production at my college. The designers had the brilliant idea of dressing part of the ensemble as "stardrops", which involved the careful creation of vests implanted with tiny LEDs and battery packs. The director (let's call her "Lisa") absolutely loved the idea from the moment it was suggested in a production meeting. Finally, during tech week, we got the vests from wardrobe and electrics. "Lisa" decided she didn't like the choreography in conjunction with the light-up vests. After trying two different setups, she decided to set the vests aside and "deal with them later." At final dress, when the SM asked about the vests, "Lisa" answered "If we have time, we'll get to them, but I'm telling you right now that we won't have time." Ultimately, the vests were not seen onstage until months later, when a student-run improv show used them for a short skit culminating in their SM calling from the booth, "Nah, I don't like where this is going, just scrap the whole thing!"

Well, thanks for reading, and I hope to get to know some of you and learn a few things!

yomanda

• Contributor
    • View Profile
  • Experience: Community Theatre
Re: Good day!
« Reply #1 on: Jan 25, 2014, 12:26 am »
Hi Brandon, and welcome to SMNetwork!