Author Topic: Excited to be here (and a bit nervous)  (Read 1508 times)

Tracyvp

• Tourist
    • View Profile
  • Experience: Community Theatre
Excited to be here (and a bit nervous)
« on: Apr 25, 2015, 05:38 pm »
Hello, everyone! (I hope that's not breaking the rules!)

I am not exactly new to stage managing, but I'd have to say I'm new to doing it "right!"  I've been a part of various Youth Theatre and Community Theatre groups for the past 15 years as the parent of performers. I really wanted to avoid being one of those "stage moms" but I loved being where my kids were, so I always threw myself into volunteering.  Being extremely organized, I always ended up doing things like creating registration forms, contact sheets, rehearsal and carpool calendars and sending out communications. 

I also loved working backstage and normally ended up helping with props or some other task, as long as I didn't have to wrangle kids in the dressing rooms!  We never had official Stage Managers, and as I am always one to fill a void, eventually I figured out that I could help make things run more smoothly by making and posting sheets for all the folks helping backstage detailing what needed to happen when, and then eventually assigning people to do it!  One thing led to another, and when my kids moved on to a more organized group, I was asked to make the jump to "calling the show!" 

I was somewhat terrified at the prospect, and on my very first show (ITTW) I got distracted by chatter in the headset and forgot to call the special effects cue for the transformation scene, leaving the poor Witch to transform in full view of the audience!  I've yet to live that one down, but I've never made that mistake again!