Author Topic: Working in LA  (Read 6359 times)

cajundrama

• New to Town
    • View Profile
  • Affiliations: AEA
  • Current Gig: When You Wish @ The Freud
  • Experience: Professional
Working in LA
« on: Mar 26, 2009, 07:28 pm »
Hi Everyone,
I'm a young SM who at the moment is non-union and has been Stage Managing since high school. I have been living in Los Angeles for almost 2 years now. I moved out here after college to work in film, but missed theatre so much and about 5 months ago went back to it in hope to earn a living SM-ing. It's really really rough. I'm just getting started professionally and haven't had any guidance about doing this in LA (or anywhere actually). So I have a few questions that I would love an honest answer to.

1) Is it possible to earn a decent living working as a Stage Manager in LA?
2) If so how?
3) If not where should I move to have a better chance?
And most importantly....
4) Is it really possible to earn a decent living as a Stage Manager at all or will I be 45 and still teaching yoga part-time waiting for the next gig?

I know it's a lot to ask but I really would appreciate answers. Thanks! 
~Cate

Bkstgboy

• New to Town
    • View Profile
  • Current Gig: Center Theatre Group
Re: Working in LA
« Reply #1 on: May 22, 2009, 01:08 am »