Author Topic: What to wear/bring to a SM interview or other tips  (Read 22849 times)

JenniferEver

• New to Town
    • View Profile
What to wear/bring to a SM interview or other tips
« on: Jun 28, 2006, 05:54 pm »
I'm a recent college graduate. Tomorrow I have my first interview for an SM position. I'm really not sure what to wear or bring to the interview and what kind of questions may be asked. ANY tips would be appreciated.

nmno

Re: What to wear/bring to a SM interview or other tips
« Reply #1 on: Jun 28, 2006, 06:44 pm »
Jennifer, congrats on the interview!
I usually wear nice slacks with a twinset or nice dress shirt - a look that might be business casual/casual Friday in the corporate world.  Make sure everything is clean, pressed. I say no to jeans.  I make sure I wear a nice looking pair of shoes but choose flats or a sturdy low heel (in the event I'm given a tour of backstage/shops/etc).  Avoid perfume and over the top jewelry.

As to what to bring: I bring a nice folder (leather) with me that has a note pad, a pen and an extra copy of my resume and references.  Resume and references in case the interviewer can't find theirs, maybe there is a second interviewer straining to look over the shoulder of the first and at the very least, one last chance for my to look at the resume I submitted so I know exactly what they are looking at.  A notepad for anything I want jot down that comes up in the interview.  I also try to jot down any questions I might have for them - i'm bound to forget in the heat of the moment, plus when they ask if I have any questions, I can look at my list and say "No, thank you, we've actually covered everything" (indicating I *did* come prepared with questions but they happened to have been answered).