Author Topic: Finding Jobs  (Read 4069 times)

slac0953

• Tourist
    • View Profile
Finding Jobs
« on: Jun 07, 2007, 08:53 pm »
I have been a Stage Manager since my sophomore year of high school. I did not do any theatre my freshman year of college but just switched into the major for stage management. I currently live in a town that is not huge on theatre. Greeley, Colorado. I was wondering living in a town that is not very theatre orientated what is the best way to find jobs of even Apprenticeships?
Alexandria

malewen

• New to Town
    • View Profile
  • Affiliations: AEA, SMA
  • Experience: Professional
Re: Finding Jobs
« Reply #1 on: Jun 07, 2007, 11:58 pm »
You may have to go outside of your town to find an apprenticeship.  Keep your eyes posted on the boards here and you might also try to get your hands on a publication called ARTSEARCH which put out by the Theatre Communications Group (known as TCG) that lists all kinds of jobs and apprentice positions.  Check their website (www.tcg.org) under publications.  You'll have to subscribe but they offer a number of subscription plans.  Don't forget to use the resources at your university - they might well already subscribe to ARTSEARCH...

ReyYaySM

• Permanent Resident
    • View Profile
  • Affiliations: AEA
  • Current Gig: Freelance
« Reply #2 on: Jun 08, 2007, 01:29 am »
Two great websites to check out are Artslynx and backstagejobs.com.  The first is basically a listing of various resources (print and online) for finding theatre jobs (not just stage management) and the second is a listing of job postings broken down by job category.  There are also a couple of threads on this forum about internships and apprenticeships, so you could try a search of the boards.  Best of luck to you!!

McShell

• New to Town
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: Jun 08, 2007, 04:42 am »