Author Topic: to get hired...  (Read 6306 times)

sm4eagles

• Tourist
    • View Profile
to get hired...
« on: Aug 29, 2006, 06:09 pm »
I am a little worried about pursuing a stage management job because when I graduate in May I will actually have a degree in Marketing. Are there others out there who are SM's with a degree in something else? Should I go to a grad program and get a masters in sm or should I attempt to find a job with the experience I've got. I have a minor in dance and have been sm in 2 dance productions here and 1 dance festival held at my school. What is recommended? What degrees to others have? Any advice??? Thanks!!!!

stagemonkey

• SM Expert
    • View Profile
Re: to get hired...
« Reply #1 on: Aug 30, 2006, 12:18 am »
I have a degree in Theatre Tech/Design and am pursuing work in stage management.  The tick is there is always the discussion of if you need a degree at all to stage manage. And around the forum somewhere I am sure you can find the discussions people have had on whether you need the degree or not.  Basically for me the degree helped to fill my resume with experience while providing that safe haven of acedamia for me to try my hand at the work where I could screw up but had others around to help me through it. 

The trick is if you have the skills and some experience on the resume you can find work.  Starting out it will be smaller jobs for not much pay but it will fill in the resume and give you more practice at the craft  which will help future jobs.  That masters will help you get more experience and network, but you can do this just as well on your own.  My advice is if you like school and can afford it go get the masters as it certainly wouldnt hurt anything.  You do have some experience so you might be able to help a small company out and build from there.

DeeCap

• Permanent Resident
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Aug 30, 2006, 03:32 pm »