Author Topic: Stuck in a Rut  (Read 2547 times)

nikkiec

• New to Town
    • View Profile
  • Experience: Professional
Stuck in a Rut
« on: Aug 14, 2011, 02:17 pm »
So I'm hoping I picked the right place to post this.  I'm looking for some general advice:  I've been freelancing for years, and most of the work I do is Shakespearean-- which I love, don't get me wrong, but I'd love to do something else, be a it a musical, dance, anything!  But I always get the "Oh, you really only do Shakespeare...thanks but no thanks"  after people see my resume.  How do I let people know I have the skills and ability to do other things in a letter?  I'm not very good at selling myself through paper...
Any suggestions/stories/help would be appreciated! 

Nikki
Done and Done

MatthewShiner

• Forum Moderators
    • View Profile
  • Affiliations: AEA, SMA
  • Current Gig: Freelance Stage Manager; Faculty for UMKC
Re: Stuck in a Rut
« Reply #1 on: Aug 14, 2011, 03:06 pm »
Look at my resume, and you will see your story is pretty much my story - after six years of classical theater, and I am trying to shake it up a bit - for a wide variety of reasons.

It's important to sit down with a director, and sell yourself.  First know, that it is often easier for a straight play stage manager to transfer into musicals then the other way . . . It's odd, but it seems to be true.

Sit down with a director, general manager, producer, and point out the selling point of Shakespeare . . .

1) Larger cast
2) Ensemble casts / Chorus style tracking
3) Fight /Dance / Music in Shakespeare
4) Multiple Scene Changes and locations
5) Large Artistic Teams (Director, Fight Director, Vocal Coach, Musical Director, Choreographer, Etc, Etc)

AND . . . don't forget, play to strengths, there are people out there looking for good Shakespeare Stage Managers, so maybe opening up where you work.  There a lot of people out there would love the opportunity to work Shakespeare.