Author Topic: How Much Is Too Much?  (Read 4236 times)

Danny Clemens

• New to Town
    • View Profile
    • http://dannyclmns.com
  • Experience: Professional
How Much Is Too Much?
« on: May 02, 2009, 11:44 pm »
Hey guys, I'm in an employment dilemma here.  I just finished a show three weeks ago with a director who I have been working with for a couple years now.  The show itself turned out wonderful, but there was a ton of drama amongst the Production Team.  To make a long story short, there was a huge breakdown in communication and lack of boundaries that both had catastrophic results on both professional and personal relationships.

The show was a middle school production (and I was working without a contract, more of a "paid volunteer" thing, if you catch my drift) that was pretty understaffed (I was doing lighting, sound, and stage management all at once).  As a result, the entire production team was contributing to set design.  I had been assigned several scenes/set pieces to design.  Because I also had lighting and sound and stage management to work on, I finished all of my set design relatively early in the rehearsal process and submitted the list of everything that needed to be ordered and the director approved it and said she would order it all.

As each week passed, it became evident to me that nothing had actually been ordered.  I asked the director what was going on, and she told me that I worry too much and to forget about it.  As time went on, I became more persistent because everything that was supposed to have been ordered two months ago had not yet come in and we were two weeks before opening with NO sets.