Author Topic: Salary Requirements  (Read 5694 times)

ejsmith3130

• SM Expert
    • View Profile
  • Affiliations: EMC
  • Current Gig: Coordinating a Move to Napaskiak AK- Harder than any show I've ever done!
  • Experience: Professional
Salary Requirements
« on: Jan 06, 2013, 01:31 pm »
Hello All!

I am applying for a full time production management position, but I am running into one thing that has me stuck. It asks me to include my salary requirements. I have been working freelance since I graduated and have never had to negotiate pay. Is there a specific format I should send this in as? Do I put in a specific number at all or leave it at negotiable? I know the minimun that I need to pay my bills and such, but I'm afraid of putting a number down and having it be too low or too high and blow my chances at the job.

Also- should it be stated in terms of by hour, weekly, or a yearly salary? I have only worked hourly and weekly thus far in my contracts.

I am more than qualified for this position, but I'm afraid that I'm going to blow my chances with this salary requirements thing.

Thanks guys for any insight!

sievep

• Permanent Resident
    • View Profile
  • Affiliations: AGMA
Re: Salary Requirements
« Reply #1 on: Jan 06, 2013, 02:39 pm »
I'm sure everyone on here is going to have a different opinion for you.

If it were me . . . you mentioned it's a full time position, so I would give them a yearly figure, make it a range, and make sure to label it "negotiable". 

As to how much . . .if you know what you need on a yearly basis JUST to survive, add 5-10K to that and there's your figure.  If they can't pay you what you are worth, you don't want to work for them anyway.
« Last Edit: Jan 06, 2013, 02:41 pm by sievep »
"This lovely light, it lights not me" - Orson Welles

KMC

• Forum Moderators
    • View Profile
  • Current Gig: Project Manager, Systems Integration
  • Experience: Former SM
« Reply #2 on: Jan 06, 2013, 04:54 pm »