Author Topic: Resume question--current show  (Read 9156 times)

Meg_23_c2o

• New to Town
    • View Profile
  • Affiliations: AEA
Resume question--current show
« on: Aug 12, 2008, 11:03 pm »
I'm a young stage manager, and I'm curious to see whether it's ok to put a current show on a resume.  The show I'm on right now does not actually open until late Sept., but I just moved to New York, and it's one of the few New York credits I have.  Is it ok to put it on, or is it better to wait until the show is actually open?
Superman can leap tall buildings in a single bound.  Stage managers have to lift up the buildings so everyone else can walk under them.

zayit shachor

• SM Expert
    • View Profile
    • http://thankyouten.blogspot.com
Re: Resume question--current show
« Reply #1 on: Aug 12, 2008, 11:49 pm »
I usually list my current / upcoming show with (forthcoming) accompanying the title.

MatthewShiner

• Forum Moderators
    • View Profile
  • Affiliations: AEA, SMA
  • Current Gig: Freelance Stage Manager; Faculty for UMKC
  • Experience: Professional
« Reply #2 on: Aug 13, 2008, 07:14 am »
I always find my rule of thumb is once I sign the contract to add it to my resume . . . currently right now I have four shows on my resume that I haven't start rehearsal - I put the season and the year next to it (spring, 09) for example.

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

Anything posted here as in my own personal opinion, and does not necessarily reflect the opinion of my employer - whomever they be at a given moment in time.

SMrose

• Permanent Resident
  • all the world's a stage
    • View Profile
  • Affiliations: AEA, IATSE
  • Current Gig: Technical Support Services @ Lenoir-Rhyne University
  • Experience: Former SM
« Reply #3 on: Aug 13, 2008, 09:57 am »
"Current" show is fine to put on a resume. I always have a cover letter that accompanies my resume and it's in the cover letter that I'll put all upcoming shows in addition to an overview of my work ethics.