Author Topic: Question about names  (Read 6602 times)

Mikesmith

• New to Town
    • View Profile
Question about names
« on: Sep 01, 2008, 04:07 pm »
Hello,

My name's Mike Smith and I've been reading this forum for a while now, but just now decided to register.  Not sure why I waited so long to do so, but oh well. 

At any rate, I have a question.  I'm currently non equity, but I work as a PA (sort of) for a LORT theater.  Now on half the shows I work on I do the job of a second assistant stage manager, working with both an Equity ASM and a SM. And for the rest of the season I work just with an Equity SM, and do the job of an ASM.  However, due to contract rights, because I'm not Equity, the theater can not call me an ASM, instead I get the clunky title "Stage Manager's Production Assistant" or the even worse title, "Apprentice Stage Manager", which sounds more like an internship. 

I want to make my resume to really shine.  Would it be alright to list myself as "ASM (non Equity)", or even "ASM" or would you say I have to list myself one the above titles?  I don't feel like I'm lying in anyway at all, my duties are the exact same, just not my pay rate.  But technically it's not my job.

One SM I had told me to list myself as a Production Assistant, so that's what I did.  But this hasn't helped me much at all.  When I was looking for non equity summer work, I had one person tell me I didn't have the experience to work at their theater.  Not to say that isn't true, but I wondered if they even understood what I did for the Alliance.  I mean in my town (Atlanta) there non equity SM jobs I could get, and I have done that before I started my current job.   But the pay is lower, the shows aren't as complex, and I simply wouldn't learn as much from them.