Author Topic: Promissory Note versus Contract  (Read 6780 times)

SLY

• New to Town
    • View Profile
    • Sheena L Young
Promissory Note versus Contract
« on: Apr 30, 2010, 12:54 pm »
Hi All,

I know its been awhile since I've logged in but now that the dust has settled in my new location, I'm ready to get back into things. I've relocated to New York and have started working as an ASM on a production. I have a question. The director is asking me to sign a "Promissory Note" and not a contract for a show I have just started working on. I've never heard of a promissory note. I suppose the only difference is that it doesn't not outline my responsibilities and their expectations. I have NEVER worked on a show before even as an ASM where I did not have a contract. Is this how New York does theater or is this something weird? The director mentioned that only the SM and Designers get contracts. Why haven't I ever heard that before in my 9 years of theater experience?

Is this weird or is this the norm? Please help and advise before I sign this!
Everything you can imagine is real ~ Pablo Picasso

loebtmc

• View Profile
  • Affiliations: AEA, SAG, AFTRA, SMA
  • Current Gig: Caroling, caroling now we go — and looking for my next gig!
  • Experience: Professional
Re: Promissory Note versus Contract
« Reply #1 on: Apr 30, 2010, 02:16 pm »
what does it say? what are you being asked to sign - specifically? does it only ask you to promise you won't take another show? is there guaranteed pay/responsibility from their end if anything changes and you don't end up working w them? does it spell out times or pay scale or anything at all? have you negotiated your salary/hours/responsibilities verbally and they just aren't typed into a formal contract yet? Is this a precursor to a formal contract?