Author Topic: Prior non-theatre experience on resume  (Read 6244 times)

PurrKitten

• New to Town
  • Life is too short to be too serious
    • View Profile
    • Off Stage West
Prior non-theatre experience on resume
« on: Sep 14, 2008, 03:12 pm »
I would appreciate some input on whether or not to include my prior non-theatre experience on my resume.  And if to include it, how to show it.  For the past year, I've been working as an SM, ASM, light & sound board operator, and sound designer in local community theater.  I've enrolled in a local college to get formal education in what I'm now calling my third career because I'm loving what I do.

Before this past year, I spent nearly 10 years in the accounting/finance field (I'm a CPA).  Then I re-tooled myself and spent the next 18 years in the software engineering field from which I basically just walked away from last year.  This experience has given me some great background for SM work:  organization, leadership, project management, tenacity, etc.  The skills I acquired in these careers really do carry forward to the SM role.

So the question is:  do I put a small section on the resume regarding this experience?  I want to somehow say that I have a great deal of management and leadership experience, but I don't know quite how to do it.  Plus, my college degree is in business, not fine arts.  How does this look to those of you looking at a resume?

Thanks in advance to those of you who reply.   :)

ljh007

• Permanent Resident
    • View Profile
  • Affiliations: SMA
Re: Prior non-theatre experience on resume
« Reply #1 on: Sep 14, 2008, 05:32 pm »
What an awesome background you have!
Welcome to SMNetwork, and the world of stage management!

Depending on the SM gigs you're applying for right now, I'd recommend either direction: