Author Topic: One of the things I hate about the biz...  (Read 9581 times)

jspeaker

• SM Expert
    • View Profile
  • Experience: Professional
One of the things I hate about the biz...
« on: Oct 22, 2005, 04:09 pm »
is writing cover letters!!  I always feel like an idiot when I'm writing them.  I'm a good stage manager and I would hate for my bad cover letters to be keeping me from interviews much less jobs.

Does anyone have any pointers? examples?  helpful websites?
Jess W. Speaker, III
Equity Stage Manager
DC Area AEA Liaison
(301) 335-1498

http://q5go.blogspot.com/

Mac Calder

• Forum Moderators
  • Plan for the future, live for the now
    • View Profile
  • Affiliations: Live Performance Australia / Media Arts and Entertainment Alliance
  • Current Gig: Technical Director
  • Experience: Former SM
« Reply #1 on: Oct 22, 2005, 08:13 pm »
Keep it short (half a page to a page) and to the point. Use a formal layout, with both of your addresses/phone numbers at the top, date it. Then begin.

Dear sir/madame/other form of address

Please find enclosed my application for the possition of xxx advertised in yyy on the dd of mmm.

For the last xyz years I have Stage Managed a number of shows including a (directed by b), c (directed by d) & e (directed by f), within with such notable companies as h,i&j. I find myself eager to work on your production of qqq as (INSERT REASONS HERE).

I feel I can bring a number of things to the team due to:
* Bullet list of attributes like organisation skills
* past experiance
* having worked with the director before
* what ever

<insert whatever else>

Thankyou for taking the time to read through my application and I look forward to further correspondence

Regards

<INSERT YOUR NAME HERE>

nook

• New to Town
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Nov 24, 2005, 07:17 pm »