Author Topic: Making money with AEA?  (Read 2983 times)

Rebelsw/oapplause

• New to Town
    • View Profile
Making money with AEA?
« on: Jul 10, 2008, 05:24 pm »
What is the minimum salary for stage managers in AEA? Are you paid weekly, and what do you do if you dont have a current job? How do you make money? Is finding equity jobs difficult?

I know these questions may sound stupid, but I am an aspiring stage manager in high school planning to go to college for stage management. My parents dont believe that it would be a stable job, and I need some information to back of my plan.  :) Thanks alot guys!

-Ryan

J

• SM Expert
    • View Profile
  • Affiliations: AEA, SMA
Re: Making money with AEA?
« Reply #1 on: Jul 10, 2008, 05:53 pm »
Minimum AEA salaries range from small stipends (think $100 or so on showcases) to very large weekly salaries in the range of $2500/week.  It really varies. Check out actorsequity.org and the document section for different agreements.  They usually have minimum salaries for the individual contracts listed.

I'm not sure what you mean by "what do you do if you don't have a current job" --- but my best guess to answer your question: search for one!  (I'm not saying that to be snide.  Its the truth)

You make money weekly under AEA contracts.  Some stage managers have day jobs for a while if they're working on smaller contracts, but the larger ones usually don't allow time for a day job.