Author Topic: How to differential between educational experience as a student and as a teacher  (Read 5844 times)

Jessie_K

• Superstar!
    • View Profile
    • International Stage Manager of Mystery
  • Affiliations: AEA, AGMA, SMA (on leave)
  • Current Gig: Queen of the Night
  • Experience: Professional
I am in the process of updating my resume and have come upon a question.

My current job is as a teacher for a professional training program. 

My resume is currently divided into categories:

Circus, Theatre, Opera etc

What can I title my new section?  I am afraid to use the term Educational because I think it will end up looking like I am a student.

Thoughts?

nick_tochelli

• Loved and Missed.
  • Permanent Resident
    • View Profile
    • Nick Tochelli's Blog: The Backstage Ballet
  • Affiliations: AEA, SMA
  • Current Gig: PM- Godlight Theatre Company/Inside Sales:Barbizon Lighting
  • Experience: Former SM
Not sure what an industry standard for this would be but maybe Educator?

You could also put Education as the header and in your cover letter explain you've been employed at such and such a university since blah blah blah and it would cover your bases.

SMrose

• Permanent Resident
  • all the world's a stage
    • View Profile
  • Affiliations: AEA, IATSE
  • Current Gig: Technical Support Services @ Lenoir-Rhyne University
In my resume, I use: Adjunct Instructor, type of instruction ( i.e. Stage Management), name of college or university

Jessie_K

• Superstar!
    • View Profile
Hmm.  Does "Academic" sound more teacherly than "Educational"

MatthewShiner

• Forum Moderators
    • View Profile
  • Current Gig: Freelance Stage Manager; Faculty for UMKC
Are you trying to list SHOWS or create a new academic section of your resume . . .

You might need to leave behind the traditional SM resume format and move on to a more complete CV format if you have are listing shows, and then academic teaching experience.