Author Topic: High School Stage Management Salary  (Read 4061 times)

jacksonlightning

• Tourist
    • View Profile
  • Current Gig: Fiddler on the Roof
  • Experience: High School
High School Stage Management Salary
« on: Jul 14, 2012, 03:38 pm »
Hi Everyone
I'm a high school stage manager/lighting designer/etc. and I've never been paid for my work before.
I recently contacted a theatre company and asked about light designing their show; the woman (I believe she's the owner but the company's just getting started so it was a little ambiguous) responded and said that she was going to be LD because of budget constraints but asked for my resume so she could keep it on file.
I wasn't expecting a salary when I emailed her but, call me evil, I wouldn't complain about being paid for my work after four years of working for free/paying to work.
Anyway, she then responded and asked what I usually get paid in terms of an hourly wage/stipend.
I know my original email was about LD but my resume clearly reflects the fact that most of my experience is SM related so I'm wondering if anyone has advice for how to respond to this email.
I don't really want to reply saying, "Nothing, I'll do anything for no money just please take me!" but I don't really know what a reasonable amount would be to reply with.
Let me know if you have any advice and thanks so much for your time!

MatthewShiner

• Forum Moderators
    • View Profile
  • Affiliations: AEA, SMA
  • Current Gig: Freelance Stage Manager; Faculty for UMKC
  • Experience: Professional
Re: High School Stage Management Salary
« Reply #1 on: Jul 14, 2012, 07:04 pm »