Author Topic: Going to NYC?  (Read 11428 times)

AubreyRenee

• Tourist
    • View Profile
Going to NYC?
« on: Nov 21, 2007, 12:31 pm »
So, I am currently a Stage Management student and will be graduating with my BFA in Stage Management in about 3 weeks (Ah!).  I have been toying around with many options and one of those is going to NYC and starting my life there.  I have a deep passion for theatre, and NYC is the best place for that (to me, anyways).  But, of course, that's where everyone goes.  I have a lot of experience stage managing here at my University, but no professional experience.  What should I be expecting if I move there?  Would I even be abel to find work? 

My other option is a Business Graduate School.  I'd be earning a Masters in Computer Information Systems.  This, of course, is a more secure job, but I'm not sure if my heart is in it.  Would it be more beneficial for me to go to NYC now or after grad school (with the intent to stage manage)? 

I could really use some advice, as my parents are not very unbiased advisors.  Thanks!

Jessie_K

• Superstar!
    • View Profile
    • International Stage Manager of Mystery
  • Affiliations: AEA, AGMA, SMA (on leave)
  • Current Gig: Queen of the Night
  • Experience: Professional
Re: Going to NYC?
« Reply #1 on: Nov 21, 2007, 07:48 pm »
If you want to stage manage, start getting experience.  Community theatre, small professional theatre, etc.  If you think you will still want to pursue stage management even after a couple of years of business school, why go to business school.

Where do you live now?  Is there a place you can intern or ASM and build some professional creds on your resume before moving to NYC?

avkid

• Permanent Resident
    • View Profile
    • Philip LaDue
  • Affiliations: RFL, IATSE
  • Current Gig: Carpenter/Flyman at Count Basie Center For The Arts
« Reply #2 on: Nov 22, 2007, 05:37 pm »
NYC is not the best idea for time being.
Philip LaDue
IATSE Local #21 Newark, NJ

centaura