Author Topic: From the other side of the resume (low key rant - personal advice)  (Read 25740 times)

theatremonster

Also, as you gain more experience I'd recommend moving your education further down the page.  For an entry level position like an internship you're probably best to leave it there, but as you gain more "real world" experience that should take precedence over your education - in my opinion at least.

I concur, however... you say that you don't have a degree; are you currently pursuing one?  If not, I might leave it off altogether, or at least move it down now.

Thanks everyone.

Kevin & nmno -

No, I'm not pursuing a degree in theatre or arts management. I have a dual degree that has nothing to do with the arts.

Quick question though: Do you think I should trim my resume down to one page? I'm just worried that if I only include some theatrical experience (almost 3 quarters of the shows were in my native language, so I only listed shows in the English language), what would distinguish me from the hundreds of applicants with degrees in theatre?

Even so, I have some editing to do. I decided to take your advice and move my education further down, so as to highlight my theatrical background.

Thanks again.

« Last Edit: Dec 18, 2007, 01:18 am by theatremonster »

nmno

Do you think I should trim my resume down to one page? I'm just worried that if I only include some theatrical experience (almost 3 quarters of the shows were in my native language, so I only listed shows in the English language), what would distinguish me from the hundreds of applicants with degrees in theatre?

Yes, you should trim it down to one page.  It's hard; each show is like a child... and how can you say you love one more than another.  But you can, trust me.