Author Topic: Fitting a freelance SM career into an application form  (Read 7066 times)

leastlikely

• SM Expert
    • View Profile
  • Affiliations: EMC
  • Current Gig: The White Snake - Constellation Theatre Company
  • Experience: Professional
I'm currently applying for a staff SM position at a university events venue. In addition to submitting a resume and cover letter I also have to do an online application which requires filling in work history.

I have 8 years of experience as a freelance SM. I have no problem expressing the job duties in a way that will look good to a hiring manager, but there are mandatory questions in the application such as supervisor name, title, and contact info, and non-mandatory questions including hours per work week and number/titles of employees you supervised. I feel like it would be best to just list all my SM experience as one job, rather than including separate entries for the 50 or so productions I've done in that time (nobody wants to slog through that application), but I can't really answer any of those questions because I haven't had just one supervisor or just one team that I've managed.

How do I answer these impossible questions? Can I just say "varies"? Any other advice for wedging a freelance career into a form that is clearly tailored for more traditional jobs?

Maribeth

• Superstar!
    • View Profile
  • Affiliations: AEA
  • Experience: Former SM
Re: Fitting a freelance SM career into an application form
« Reply #1 on: Apr 23, 2019, 08:32 pm »
Are there any companies that you have gone back to a number of times? If so, you could include your supervisors/etc from those positions, and then have the more complete list on your resume. If you have those as several examples from your career experience, and more details in your cover letter/resume/interview to flesh things out, that should give them a good idea of what your experience is without listing 50 shows.