Author Topic: Worst Job Offers?  (Read 7806 times)

Melissitchka

• New to Town
    • View Profile
    • brokeGIRLrich
  • Affiliations: SMA
  • Current Gig: SM/LD
  • Experience: Professional
Worst Job Offers?
« on: Jan 07, 2016, 04:58 pm »
Hi there,

I'm working on a blog article about the worst jobs you've ever done in the arts. The point of the article is to get younger stage manager and performers to think about what they're really being offered when they take a gig. I plan to write about my own experiences, but I was hoping to include other stage manager's as well. If any of you are willing to share a story, I'd love to include it. It can be anonymous too, if you prefer.

A bad example is: "Man, I could tell you stories about the horrible pay, long hours, super unsafe working conditions with some of the show I have worked."

A good example is: "I was a rehearsal pianist and one time I worked for three hours of accompanying auditions for a Subway sandwich coupon. Not a sandwich. A coupon for a discount on a sandwich."

Thanks!
Cruise Ship Livin' Perk: A Whole Lot of Travel Stories - http://worldsherpa.wordpress.com/

iamchristuffin

• Permanent Resident
    • View Profile
    • www.christuffin.co.uk
  • Affiliations: UK SMA, UK Equity
Re: Worst Job Offers?
« Reply #1 on: Jan 07, 2016, 07:53 pm »
Oh god so many!

My second job after leaving uni was for a 'friend' who was 'producing' a 'play' in a fringe theatre. It was a two-hander, and there was me as SM, the director, the producer, and an LD.

Four weeks of propping, rehearsals, sourcing and fitting costumes, re-writing the script, designing sound, and a week of performances for the grand total of....(Drum Roll please).....£250($365). On the other side of one of the most expensive cities in the world.

WHAT I LEARNED ON THIS GIG - There are occasions that it's better to be unemployed, and working for a loss is a real possibility.