Author Topic: Crossroads in Life - where to live?  (Read 5142 times)

catalinacisne

• New to Town
    • View Profile
  • Experience: Professional
Crossroads in Life - where to live?
« on: Jun 20, 2009, 10:34 pm »
Hokay so. I am a recent college grad who will be pursuing a career in stage management. This summer I am interning with Shakespeare Santa Cruz, and in the fall will be stage managing The Sound of Music for a local community theater. My tentative plan is to get a day job where I can actually earn money while bolstering my resume working for community theaters for the next year while staying with my mom to maximize money-saving potential, and then move. My request for advice is: where do I move?

I'm looking for a place that has a lot of community and regional/professional theatre, so that I can gain experience and move up in my career and such, but also isn't over-saturated with people so that I can still find a day job. Huge cities (NYC, Chicago) intimidate me (in a public safety realm, not in my abilities as an SM). San Francisco is too pricey for me. In brainstorming, I've come up with Seattle, Minneapolis, Miami, San Diego, and DC. I was wondering if people had other suggestions?

Thank you so much!
Caitlin

Tempest

• Permanent Resident
  • Learn to love chaos, then tame it.
    • View Profile
  • Current Gig: The Center For Puppetry Arts
Re: Crossroads in Life - where to live?
« Reply #1 on: Jun 22, 2009, 01:38 pm »
I don't have other ideas, but I'll cast a vote for Mineapolis.  I wasn't of an age to work as an SM when I lived there, but I know my Dad never had any trouble finding acting work when he wanted it, and I did do some work in pit orchestras.  Lots of theatre of all sizes, some paid, some not.

Good luck, let us know what you decide!
Jessica: "Of course I have a metric size 4 dinglehopper in my kit!  Who do you think I am?"

MatthewShiner

• Forum Moderators
    • View Profile
  • Affiliations: AEA, SMA