Author Topic: Chickening out?  (Read 2941 times)

Theatrenewt

• Tourist
    • View Profile
Chickening out?
« on: Jul 12, 2008, 12:31 pm »
Hey gang,

I would love some words of wisdom form anyone who's got it. I'm struggling with the company I'm currently working with. I've been going back in forth in my head over the variables...They're a young company (I'm a young stage manager!) and this is my second season with them (summer only). The thing is that they're still figuring out how things need to be run, how many employees they need, and so on. Things get bigger and different from year to year.
The three founders of the company were all actors and they are now discovering what it takes to run an entire company. The thing is, they each have so much on their plate being Actor, Director, Artistic Director, Executive director, producer, company manager, leading fun company events, attending board meetings (we're non-profit), hustling donations and so on that it's very difficult to streamline any kind of focus on one thing.
I feel that I'm a good (but growing) SM, and I've been asked back to every company I work for. But when I come to this place, I'm suddenly scattered, inefficient and always falling behind. I'm not the only one.
I'm considering not returning if I'm asked back next season, and we're only into the first show.

Is this chickening out? I don't know if I just need to buck up and I'm giving up an excellent opportunity for growth and experience or making a wise decision based on my personal sanity and - quite frankly - the thought that they may need a more experienced SM.

Without knowing all the particulars, does anyone have any gut-feeling advice?
"I have only met four perfect people in my life, and I didn't like any of them."   -Abraham Lincoln

loebtmc

• View Profile
  • Affiliations: AEA, SAG, AFTRA, SMA
  • Current Gig: Caroling, caroling now we go — and looking for my next gig!
  • Experience: Professional
Re: Chickening out?