Author Topic: Changing lanes.....  (Read 15064 times)

erin

• Contributor
    • View Profile
    • http://www.obscure.org/~nimue/resume.html
  • Affiliations: AEA
Changing lanes.....
« on: Oct 15, 2007, 07:40 pm »
I'm sure there has to already be a thread for this but i'm not finding one...

Due to a variety of personal reasons, I'm leaving theatre and Stage Management.   The job is too consuming for me and I need to transition to a line of work that will allow me flexibility in work hours and the ability to take time off when needed for illness or personal reasons.   

I've been a successful professional SM for years and don't have much job experience outside of theatre.   Even when not stage managing i mostly worked in theatre....

*I* know that I can succeed in just about any line of work, but how do I phrase that in a convincing way on a resume for people who just don't know how theatre works?  It's tough enough to explain what a stage manager is in 100 words or less.   I don't want to waste a lot of print and paper (and interview time) explaining what i've been doing with my life....more interested in spotlighting the many strengths and breadth of experience that i already have and can put to work somewhere else.

Any ideas on how to phrase this concisely without scaring off potential employers?  I've been lucky enough to not have to look for non-theatre work for a very long time so I'm starting from scratch here and it's a little frightening.  I have put together a non-theatre resume which i'm glad to share with anyone willing to give input!

I'm very sad to leave theatre, especially after everything i've been through and given up to make this career work.    However, it is what i need to do at this point in my life.    Sadly, i don't have a target audience yet so I'm not ready to tailor to a specific industry (or potential job market, still trying to figure out that aspect of the shift.)