Author Topic: Being new during tough times...  (Read 5107 times)

J

• SM Expert
    • View Profile
  • Affiliations: AEA, SMA
Being new during tough times...
« on: Feb 08, 2009, 08:06 pm »
I've decided to write this post because I'm allowing myself to be consumed with current situations that are being created due to the tough economic times that we're all going through.

I am a young stage manager, late 20's, and have been working since I was out of school.  In the past 2-3 years, it turned into a full-time position for me, and I was hired on at a prominent regional theater.  First I got 1 show, then there was about 6 months off, and I got another show, and then 3 more following that.  I was working continually (and am right now) and felt very happy.

I've learned that in the coming season, there are going to be major production cutbacks, and I will have only 1 show in the season.  Our staff is hired on shows by seniority and I, along with 1 other person, fall at the bottom since I'm new.  It does seem that this other person is going to get quite a bit more work, I believe because of their age and that they had a few side projects with the company while I was working in other theaters during the initial 6 month layoff.  It's hard for me to accept that this gives this person seniority, but I guess I have to.

The reason I'm writing is more about how to handle the stress and sadness that goes along with what I'm going through.  I feel very let down that I am not going to have work with the company in the coming season.  I was handed some very difficult tasks, and did well with them, and have received incredibly positive feedback from supervisors, production staff and actors.

I feel a sense of failure for not having a full season next year, especially when this other person may indeed have one.  I know that I'm not a failure, but it feels that way.