Author Topic: ASM work in Chicago  (Read 3894 times)

Lady

• New to Town
    • View Profile
  • Affiliations: AEA EMC
  • Experience: Professional
ASM work in Chicago
« on: Oct 05, 2006, 10:32 am »
I know Chicago is a big town and it may be tough to get ASM work here, but I'm new to the city and really want to get the rest of my EMC points (or at least a paying job).  Does anyone have any pointers on finding a gig in Chicago (I already went out and got a copy of PerformInk)?  Anyone need an ASM :)?
"One cannot truly become an artist unless he has questioned his own sanity and lived in a haunted house." -Jasmine Rivera

PSMKay

• Site Founder
  • Administrator
    • View Profile
    • http://www.smnetwork.org
  • Affiliations: None.
  • Current Gig: SMNetwork *is* my production.
  • Experience: Former SM
7 years worth of pointers on the Chicago scene
« Reply #1 on: Oct 06, 2006, 08:44 am »
Word. Of. Mouth.  You will live and die on your connections out here.  Certainly watch Performink and also watch the Reader, there are some things mentioned there.  Your best in will be as run crew or board op for any number of the smaller storefront theatres -- there's a billion of them and they are always shortstaffed.  Of course, the pay is slim to none.  Be particularly on the lookout for smaller companies that are putting on musicals.

The community of tech leads out here is small and intensely close-knit.  You see the same names over and over again.  A designer with any skill can be working four or five shows at once.  Folks working as Electricians and Carpenters for the larger houses will often do double duty as designers for the smaller ones.  For designers the Chicago turf extends up into Milwaukee and south into Indiana, but with very little play to the southern part of Illinois.