Author Topic: Undergrad schools for SM  (Read 13286 times)

bonham0731

• Tourist
    • View Profile
Undergrad schools for SM
« on: Jan 13, 2006, 12:18 am »
Hello!
  I am currently a student at a local community college, but recently I have decided that I want to persue stage management. The community college doesn't offer a degree or even a course in SM. I was wondering if anyone had any suggestions for undergrad schools and/or programs that would ultimatly help me. Thanks!

hbelden

• Permanent Resident
    • View Profile
  • Affiliations: AEA
  • Experience: Professional
Undergrad schools for SM
« Reply #1 on: Jan 13, 2006, 06:41 pm »
I believe there's another posting thread on this topic.  I remember recommending Syracuse University as a good undergrad school.  

Since your college doesn't have any courses on stage management, pick up "Stage Management" by Lawrence Stern, or "The Backstage Guide to Stage Management" by Thomas Kelly - both of which are excellent books for beginning SMs.

Have you done much stage management so far?
--
Heath Belden

"I'm not good, I'm not nice, I'm just right." - Sondheim
--

bonham0731

• Tourist
    • View Profile
Undergrad schools for SM
« Reply #2 on: Jan 13, 2006, 07:33 pm »
I've actually only been SM for one show (last semester), and I'm going to do ASM and Prop Design for the current production at my college. I've always known I wanted to work in some aspect of the theater, I just didn't know which. I got thrown into the SM position last semester because no one else wanted to do it, and I really loved it. Now I'm just trying to get as much experience as I can in the backstage/mangement areas of theater to make sure it's really what I want to do. I'll definatly look into those books! I'm sure they will help put things in perspective for me. Thanks!

SDShelly

• New to Town
    • View Profile
Undergrad schools for SM
« Reply #3 on: Jan 14, 2006, 05:38 am »