Author Topic: SM Internship  (Read 5862 times)

Amarie

• Tourist
  • Redheaded Midget
    • View Profile
SM Internship
« on: Aug 16, 2006, 05:55 pm »
I've been offered an internship in stage management/production and am wondering if anyone else has done this? I'm mainly wondering about the schedule and whether or not it might be flexible, as I have a potential conflict with classes.
I'm new to SM and am looking for a bit more information before I decide whether or not to accept the internship. That being said, if there were no conflicts I think I would take it and run!  :)
Thanks!

~Annie

stagemonkey

• SM Expert
    • View Profile
Re: SM Internship
« Reply #1 on: Aug 16, 2006, 06:06 pm »
I'd say talk to both sides about the potential conflict.  It is possible that they understand and the class teacher may get out of some classes since you are working an internship that has to deal with your education as well, I know when I was in college I could have.  If you think SMing would be something you would be interested in then an internship is a great way to learn some more.  I graduated college a year ago and come this October I will be interning at the Goodman Theatre in Chicago, even though I've done a lot of SMing in college (and a little since) its still gonna be a great learning experience interms of me seeing how equity works more up close plus a good line on the resume and networking capabilities.

So yeah just talk to the people about the potential conflict sometimes they will be willing to work with you to make it all work out.

MatthewShiner

• Forum Moderators
    • View Profile
  • Affiliations: AEA, SMA
  • Current Gig: Freelance Stage Manager; Faculty for UMKC
  • Experience: Professional
« Reply #2 on: Aug 16, 2006, 06:21 pm »
Ne honest about your conflicts from the start - - - they may be able to work around it - you never know.
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -