Author Topic: In search of a (good) undergrad program  (Read 4949 times)

Nic.Tex

• Tourist
    • View Profile
In search of a (good) undergrad program
« on: Apr 02, 2006, 12:49 am »
I'm in my second year of community college, and a few weeks away from opening my second show as SM (Fetes de la Nuit, a show which makes no bloody sense but is amazing anyway). I'm hoping to transfer to an undergrad program in the next year or two to get my ba in stage management, but I'm a little concerned about a) finding the right school and b) the application process.

The director I've been working with is incredibly talented, but definitely not what you would consider "traditional" in any sense of the word -- consequently, I have this horrible feling that I"m woefully underprepared for a career as a professional SM (sometimes I feel a lot more like a personal assistant than a stage manager!). For example, I pretty much just call rehearsals, keep track of props, etc.  and the director doesn't really worry about blocking diagrams, prompt books, etc. (I don't even call cues).

How much experience is necessary to get in to a good four-year school? How hard is it to get accepted into these programs (is there much competition? how much do they take into account your GPA and which classes you've taken, both theatre-related and otherwise?) And I realize that this has been asked before, but does anyone have any reccomendations on schools or places to intern (CA, east coast, or england)?

THANKS

teddiekeet

• New to Town
    • View Profile
« Reply #1 on: Apr 02, 2006, 03:36 am »
I am currently an undergrad in Boston University's Stage Management program (although it is a BFA program and you mentioned that you are looking for a BA program. the BFA program here is a conservatory, so it is difficult to transfer into). If you would like to know more about the program in general, I'd be happy to help you out.