Author Topic: i need free books about Stage Management  (Read 7220 times)

Tonsi

• Tourist
    • View Profile
  • Experience: College/Graduate
i need free books about Stage Management
« on: Jun 13, 2009, 07:41 pm »
I'm a composer, but I've been working at the Cairo opera house as a stage manager for the past 5 years. I feel I still don't know a lot of things and there is no place to study Stage Management in Egypt. I have been studying musical theater directing for 2 years but I need to know every thing before I start my own plays. I need to know about light and about costume every thing about theater. I know about sound really good and about music of course but i feel I'm still lost and I won't start my own project before I feel I'm ready for it. I made everything about the play, everything I know until now but I still need to know more about musical theater. The movement of the musical theater here is not like in the western world and all. What I'm thinking about right now: my play, my first real Arabic opera. I need books, anything that can help me to do best of my best. I hope any one could help me. Plz write me if you can send me any books through the mail so I can read it and get the real training that I can't get here in Egypt.

thank you

EDIT: Majorly edited for grammar and readability.  It may help you get more replies. -PSMKay (Site owner)
« Last Edit: Jun 13, 2009, 10:44 pm by PSMKay »

c45207

• New to Town
    • View Profile
  • Experience: Former SM
Re: i need free books about Stage Management
« Reply #1 on: Jun 13, 2009, 07:45 pm »
Have you tried a library? See if they have a theatre section. There should be some general books on theatre, stage management, or the history of theatre which should be useful for you.

Tonsi

• Tourist
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Jun 13, 2009, 08:45 pm »