Author Topic: SM Certificate Programs?  (Read 6252 times)

JAnderson

• Tourist
    • View Profile
  • Current Gig: "Do I Hear a Waltz?" - 42nd Street Moon
  • Experience: Professional
SM Certificate Programs?
« on: Dec 06, 2011, 02:13 am »
Hello all! Here is my dilemma:

I have been working professionally as a stage manager for about six years now. I began working right out of high school as an intern for California Musical Theatre's Music Circus; later, I moved to the bay for an internship at the American Conservatory Theater before finally working community and professional gigs throughout Northern California. While learning first hand has been nice, I am longing for an education to help me better hone the craft of stage management.

Does anyone know of any stage management certificate programs? Thoughts? Advice?

Thank you for your time in advance, it is greatly appreciated.

- Josh Anderson

PS. I do not have an undergraduate degree. Also non-AEA and not taking points.
SM: 42nd Street Moon (San Francisco, CA)
PSM: City Theatre (Sacramento, CA)
PSM: Sacramento Shakespeare Festival (Sacramento, CA)

PSMKay

• Site Founder
  • Administrator
    • View Profile
    • http://www.smnetwork.org
  • Affiliations: None.
  • Current Gig: SMNetwork *is* my production.
  • Experience: Former SM
Re: SM Certificate Programs?
« Reply #1 on: Dec 06, 2011, 03:32 am »
The only "certifications" I know of in any area of the performing arts are BA, BS, BFA, MA, MS, MFA and Ph.D.  Theatre is not an industry like computer tech support with non-degree based certification programs like A+, Six Sigma and MCSE.  Such programs require standards, and there are very few of those in theatre as I'm sure you know.