Author Topic: Best schools for SM.  (Read 136877 times)

mpass41

• New to Town
    • View Profile
  • Affiliations: Millikin University
  • Current Gig: Production Manager, Pipe Dreams Studio Theatre, Millikin University
  • Experience: College/Graduate
Re: Best schools for SM.
« Reply #15 on: Nov 07, 2010, 10:09 am »
For those looking for a BFA undergrad program, I'm currently in my third year as a BFA SM major at Millikin University in Decatur, IL. The theatre program itself is very small, but then again the campus is very small, so if you don't want to be just a number, I'd highly recommend it.

As a BFA student, I am required to take Directing I and II, two tiers of play analysis, a design studio in each of the design aspects (lighting, costumes, set design, and sound), as well as two levels of Music Theory and two dance classes.

Our junior year, we have to do an internship with the on-campus road house--one semester as an ASM, and one semester as an SM--so you get a feel for what it's like working in a roadhouse and how to handle yourself while working around big names (we just had Mike Super in a couple weeks ago, and OneRepublic came last year).

We are also required to ASM two mainstage shows, and SM two mainstage shows, although most of us try to do more, and we make personal goals like working with all of the directors, or doing one of each type of show before we graduate.

I won't sugarcoat it...the program is difficult. While the performance majors and design majors aren't working on mainstage shows until maybe their junior year, we can start as early as freshman (ASMing only). We are required to do all our own paperwork, including a tech calendar for tech week, as well as run weekly production meetings for the show. Nightly rehearsal reports, weekly production meeting reports, and performance reports are all required, on top of a potential 18-credit hour week.