Author Topic: apprenticeships  (Read 5469 times)

emyru

• Tourist
    • View Profile
apprenticeships
« on: Jul 20, 2006, 03:40 pm »
OK, so I've started looking up apprenticeships, but I need some help. I'm not sure where to look! I just started, so I began with a simple Google search. I was surprised by how much I found, but would like to continue to look in other ways, obviously. How would you suggest looking? (Preferably a free/cheaper route, I am still a student)

Also, I do not have much real preference as to where I'm living, but I do have some specific curiousity about the Valencia, CA area. Anyone have any info?

loebtmc

• Forum Moderators
    • View Profile
  • Affiliations: AEA, SAG, AFTRA, SMA
  • Current Gig: Caroling, caroling now we go — and looking for my next gig!
  • Experience: Professional
Re: apprenticeships
« Reply #1 on: Jul 20, 2006, 04:05 pm »
Why Valencia?

OK - the thing to keep in mind is, Valencia is HOT HOT HOT - and dry -

and depending on where you need to be, it's a long way in heavy traffic most of the time

other than that, Mrs Lincoln....

of course, if you are attending College of the Canyons or CalArts, that's a different story - but the students there often live off the 14, where it's a little cheaper.

nmno

« Reply #2 on: Jul 20, 2006, 09:38 pm »
I also reiterate the question: Why Valencia?  Is there some specific reason... 

Since you are a student, I'd suggest first checking thru your university department.  At the LEAST, they should have a subscription to Artsearch that you can look at but I would think that they'd have more than that.

If you have an idea of WHERE you want to be, you can get a theatre directory (TCG has one, should be in your theatre department, I've found them at B&N) find theatres in the area and send them a letter.  If you are looking in a large area (ie. "Los Angeles") this might be too big a net to cast.